Press release


SaGa Frontier Characters Also Land in
‘Romancing SaGa Re;univerSe’ for a Limited Time

LOS ANGELES (Nov. 30, 2020) – During a recent livestream for the popular mobile adventure RPG Romancing SaGa™ Re;universe™ in Japan, SQUARE ENIX® revealed that cult classic SaGa Frontier™, originally released in the West in 1998, is returning as SaGa Frontier Remastered, an HD remaster digitally on the PlayStation®4 computer entertainment system, the Nintendo Switch™ system, PC (Steam®) and iOS and Android mobile devices in Summer 2021.
Part of the ongoing SaGa Project from SQUARE ENIX that has so far included Western releases of Romancing SaGa 3SaGa SCARLET GRACE: AMBITIONS and hit mobile game Romancing SaGa™ Re;univerSe™, SaGa Frontier Remastered brings back a strategic role-playing game still loved to this day.
SaGa Frontier Remastered, overseen by renowned industry veteran, Akitoshi Kawazu (FINAL FANTASY®, SaGa series) will feature a host of exciting new improvements and additions, including remastered graphics, new story content bringing in Fuse as a main playable character, new character events for fan-favorite Asellus, the popular “Glimmer” ability which gives characters new ways to learn skills and attacks, and more.
Newcomers and long-time fans will also be able to create endless adventures as one of eight protagonists, each with their own goals and endings, dependant on their choices with the unique SaGa Free-form Scenario System.
To watch the SaGa Frontier Remastered Trailer, visit:
Players eager to experience the game can obtain select SaGa Frontier characters now in the popular mobile game Romancing SaGa re;UniverSe. Surpassing over 25 million downloads worldwide, players can obtain SS Alkaiser, SS Emelia, SS Blue and SS Rouge from a limited-time Ultra-Deluxe Summon, now until December 9.
SaGa Frontier Remastered is not yet rated. For more information on the characters and world, as well as upgrades in this version, visit:
For the latest assets, visit:
Related Links:
Official SaGa Frontier Remastered Website:
Official SaGa Re;univerSe Website:
Official SaGa Re;univerSe Facebook:
Official SaGa Re;univerSe Twitter:
About the SaGa Series
SaGa is a series of revolutionary role-playing games, created by legendary game developer Akitoshi Kawazu (FINAL FANTASY, FINAL FANTASY II, SaGa Frontier). Since THE FINAL FANTASY LEGEND was released in 1990 for the Game Boy, the series has expanded with several additional entries across numerous platforms. Other SaGa series regulars include illustrator Tomomi Kobayashi, who has given the series its own unique style, and composer Kenji Ito (Mana series). Although the SaGa series shares its roots with FINAL FANTASY, the SaGa series has always incorporated revolutionary and challenging gameplay mechanics, such as player choice, branching storylines and implementing characters with wildly different playstyles, setting it apart from other JRPG series. Romancing SaGa 3 launched for the first time outside of Japan on November 11, 2019, exactly 24 years since the game’s initial Japanese release. SaGa SCARLET GRACE: AMBITIONS, an enhanced version of SaGa SCARLET GRACE, also launched for the first time outside of Japan on December 3, 2019.

About Square Enix, Inc.
Square Enix, Inc. develops, publishes, distributes and licenses SQUARE ENIX®, EIDOS® and TAITO® branded entertainment content throughout the Americas as part of the Square Enix group of companies. Square Enix, Inc. is affiliated with a global network of leading development studios such as Crystal Dynamics® and Eidos Montréal™. The Square Enix group of companies boasts a valuable portfolio of intellectual property including: FINAL FANTASY®, which has sold over 159 million units worldwide; DRAGON QUEST®, which has sold over 82 million units worldwide; TOMB RAIDER®, which has sold over 81 million units worldwide; and the legendary SPACE INVADERS®. Square Enix, Inc. is a U.S.-based, wholly owned subsidiary of Square Enix Holdings Co., Ltd.
More information on Square Enix, Inc. can be found at
# # #

© 1997, 2020 SQUARE ENIX CO., LTD. All Rights Reserved.
SAGA FRONTIER, CRYSTAL DYNAMICS, DRAGON QUEST, EIDOS, EIDOS MONTREAL, FINAL FANTASY, SPACE INVADERS, SQUARE ENIX, the SQUARE ENIX logo, TAITO and TOMB RAIDER are registered trademarks or trademarks of the Square Enix group of companies. Nintendo Switch is a trademark of Nintendo. Steam is a registered trademark of Valve Corporation. All other trademarks are properties of their respective owners.